Tags

, , ,

I’m a big believer in the benefits of eating fish. Luckily my kids (like me!) love the stuff; my middle child would happily eat seafood and particularly shellfish every day if I let her. But it is EXPENSIVE. My love for fish is deeply at odds with my food budget.

I have begun stalking the reduced section at Lidl – they often have a decent selection of meat and fish with 30% off, to be chucked in the freezer and used at a later date.

Today’s offering is by no means cheap. But it is a frugal way of buying and eating fish. And is delicious. That helps.

I saw a recipe for a gnocchi gratin in a Nigella Lawson recipe book and mentally filed it away in my brain for another day. Today, I decided that I would use up my yellow-sticker fish and and combine it with this recipe to make a gnocchi-tipped fish pie of sorts. Here is the result:

I used Lidl and Aldi ingredients, including reduced fish to make this dish. It still cost less than a fiver (just!), which I’m chuffed about.

IMG_0174

I tipped two packs of gnocchi into boiling water for a moment or two, drained and then set aside.

In a little pot I melted a 250g tub of mascarpone cheese in a good splash of milk, grated a handful or Parmesan in and then added se fresh black pepper and nutmeg.

IMG_0175

IMG_0177

In an oven proof casserole dish, I placed my chunks of fish (I used a mix of smoked haddock, salmon and white pollock). Then I topped that with my gnocchi. I poured the sauce all over the dish, added another handful of Parmesan over the top and sprinkled with breadcrumbs (or in my case, two bashed up breadsticks haha).

IMG_0178

I did this at lunchtime, and it was ready to pop in the oven at teatime to be served with some steamed veggies.

IMG_0187

