Tags

, , , ,

As we were eating our tea last night, it occurred to me that it was Sunday and it would be lovely to have a special pudding. But we were almost finished and I had nothing up my sleeve (and more crucially,  in the oven). I used this fact to my advantage, telling my children that I would concoct a dessert worth waiting for… If they tidied their rooms in the meantime. It worked! Tidy bedrooms. And this was the result of half an hour, winging it in the kitchen.

image

2oz butter
8oz plain flour
Brown sugar
Desiccated coconut
Flaked almonds
Tin of pineapple

Firstly, rub the butter and flour together to make crumbs. Stir a little brown sugar through it, a little more desiccated coconut,  and some flaked almonds. Pop this mix onto a baking tray covered in baking paper. Chuck in it a preheated oven (200° or so)

image

Then, pop your grill on. Lay your pineapple out on some foil, and sprinkle with a little more sugar. Chuck it under the grill.

image

At this point, I put the juicey syrup liquid from the tin of pineapple in a milk pan, reducing it down under the heat.

Keep checking your crumble mixture, using a fork to turn over the mixture ensuring it all gets brown. I kept adding a little more coconut, feel free to play with the ratios to suit your taste buds.

image

When the pineapple has caught colour and the crumble mix has browned and crisped up nicely,  you are ready! Pineapple goes on the bottom, give it a splash of reduced pineapple syrup,  and pop your crumble mix on top. We had it with a carton of Lidl’s custard.

image

