Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday morning my youngest arose at 6.35am. Delightful. After watching Frozen for the fifty-seventh time, we realised we still had half an hour before her older siblings woke up. She brought me through two bananas to peel, and both were overly ripe and bruised. Banana muffins it was, then.

image

400g SR flour
100g sugar
125ml oil (I used sunflower)
250g milk
2 eggs
2-3 very ripe bananas

Mash your bananas. Add them to the rest of the wet ingredients, and the sugar. Whip up well, until the sugar is dissolved and the eggs and milk/oil are well blended.

Make a well in your flour,  and add your wet mix. Roughly combine until lumpy. Do not over mix.

Half fill your cases, and pop in the oven. Alas, I have misplaced my muffin tin and so used a smaller cake ones. This recipe yielded 24 mini muffins, so would probably give 12 large ones. Bake at 180° until golden brown on top. 

image

This batch I made half my mini muffins plain banana, and added dried cranberries to the other half. Delicious. I prefer my muffins to be less sweet than some, preferring the fillings of choice to provide moments of sweetness. Banana works well, but dried cranberry and white chocolate is also excellent. You can use this recipe as a base for any muffin variety,  simply omitting the bananas and substituting another filling.

