Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but I feel happier about my home when it is filled with flowers and plants. It makes such a difference to the feel of a room, and the air quality benefits enormously from living plants inside your home.

But they don’t come cheap. Especially cut flowers,  they are an expensive luxury. And too many house plants have been purchased and then perished for me to throw much more money after inevitably dead leaves.

To this end, I have started a little spider plant nursery on my kitchen window-sills. Spider plants are excellent – they are almost impossible to kill, grow quickly and are very easy to cultivate. I take the little offshoots and cultivate them until they can be planted in their own pot.

You are looking for something like this:

image

Once cut, I keep them in little glasses of fresh water until their roots begin to grow.

image

And before you know it, voila.

image

I have spider plants all over my house. All grown from one or two original plants. The pots can be picked up super cheap at car boot sales, charity shops or even IKEA. Mismatching plant pots and lovely green sprouting leaves add such character to your home, and for such little cash.

This won’t feed your family, but it will help improve the air quality in your home and look lovely for very little money.

As an aside, if you have a child like my youngest, a child happiest when pulling the flowers off the plants in the garden, then I suggest that you keep a stock of clean jam jars in your kitchen. These work wonderfully as mini vases, hastily filled with the flowers she has stolen from my poor plants. They don’t last long, but it brightens up little corners of our house for a couple of days.

